Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Grimms July 'Watched' LIst (2012)

***Remember these are not movies I've seen before now. The movies listed are 1st time views, no repeats of movies I've already seen***

  1. Silent Night, Deadly Night 3 (1987)
  2. The Howling Reborn (2011)
  3. Coffin-Foreign (2008)
  4. Silent Night, Deadly Night 4: Initiation (1990)
  5. August )Underground's Mordum (2003)
  6. Silent Night, Deadly Night 5: The Toy Maker (1991)
  7. Paranormal Incident (2011)
  8. Cheerleader Massacre (2003)
  9. Jaws Of Satan (1981)
  10. White-Foreign (2011)
  11. Open House (1987)
  12. Dream Maniac (1980)
  13. The Nesting (1981)
  14. The Devil Inside (2012)
  15. All The Boys Love Mandy Lane (2006)
  16. Playback (2012)
  17. Eaten Alive (1977)
  18. Forget Me Not (2009)
  19. Chain Letter (2010)
  20. Antibodies (2005)
  21. Gate 2 (1990)
  22. The Woman In Black (1989)
  23. Henry: Portrait Of A Serial Killer (1986)
  24. Maniac (1980)
  25. Antichrist (2009)
  26. Theater Of Blood (1973)
  27. Don't Go In The Woods (2010)
  28. The Mask Maker (2010)
  29. The Roost (2005)
  30. The Orphan Killer (2011)
  31. Mum & Dad (2008)

The Orphan Killer (2011)


Synopsis taken from IMDb
The Orphan killer is a tour de force murder flick that defies classification. It goes far beyond current trends in gore and breaks open a new suffering genre of horror. Marcus Miller is a serial murderer hellbent on teaching his estranged sister Audrey what it means to have family loyalty. His lessons are taught in massive doses of vulgar and unimaginable pain. Throughout her brutal torture we learn that Marcus is not the only Miller with killer in the bloodline as Audrey proves to be a formidable adversary.

Let me start off by saying that it extremely annoys me how every slasher film that comes out blatantly advertises how they're the new Jason Voorhees and Freddy Krueger and Michael Myers. Lets be honest, you're not even close to being on the same level as them. Here are guys who kick-started a genre that lasted decades both with sequels and with the mark they've left on the industry. So for people to think that they're going to erase them or outdo them is blasphemy and it hasn't happened yet, and that includes this movie. Everywhere I read of this film I read of how the film makers claim The Orphan Killer is better than all others and they need to step down because there's a new guy in town etc...

This movie was good, but to be even close to Michael, Freddy and Jason you have to be legendary and this film wasn't legendary, nor was the killer legendary. I remember when Midnight Movie (2008) came out everyone said that the killer would do the same. The only horror film icon to even come close to the originators is Victor Crowley from Hatchet. And Victor Crowley is basically a rip-off Jason Voorhees, but is forgivable because it's a throwback and done in the right way.

So other than annoying me with it's ballsy reference to being the new "big dog" in town, I thought the movie was decent. I saw a trailer for it a long time ago and thought it didn't look good at all, so I wasn't sure if I would ever give this a shot. So finally the time came when I saw fit to give this a watch. And I was surprised to see how it was unmistakably better than I originally expected.

This particular movie doesn't have very good acting, but they make it work. It's apparent that this is a low budget film, and everyone knows I'm down with low budget horror films. I believe it doesn't take money to make a good movie, it takes heart and the ability to make a good movie. The budget and acting are forgivable.

The flashback scenes of The Orphan Killer as a child are very well done and actually appear in higher quality both film and acting wise,  than the recent scenes of him grown up. The flashback scenes were probably the best part of the movie for me.

The killer has this breathing noise he makes that is perfectly scary, it's a creepy way for you to know he's coming for you. I liked this aspect of the character alot and thought it was one of those things that either works or doesn't and they seem to have found the solution. It was pulled off well.

However, I did not like how he talked, it came off like a cheap movie, one of the few things they could have avoided to not lessen the tone of the movie. I think the talking aspect either shouldn't have been there or there should have been a different voice they used. Maybe that of a child, like him talking as himself when he was a child. Something creepier than what was executed.

I didn't care for the mask however, I didn't find it scary at all, but it did tie in with the story so I don't mind it. But I think they could have found a better face to put on the killer.

The plot was somewhat generic and could have had more work/thought put into it to make the story more complex and layered. There was absolutely some originality to this film and its plot, but some of that gets over shadowed by how simple it is.

The gore was good, there was alot of blood and good kills. Some were downright brutal, this guy is ruthless and one makes for a hell of a villain. He's not supernatural, he can just take alot of punishment and keep going, making him appear supernatural. By doing this you can see how they tried to make him like Voorhees and Myers and Krueger, but that doesn't make him them. Not even close. No one can be then so trying is a failure.

The Orphan Killer isn't as iconic of a killer as Jason, Michael or Freddy as the promoters claim. But it is entertaining and a decent slasher flick well done with it's resources.

I didn't love the movie but I appreciated it, I've seen far worse that's for certain.


Monday, July 30, 2012

The Roost (2005)


Synopsis taken from IMDb
Part of a "special" late-night television program...Four friends on their way to a wedding find themselves marooned on a mysterious farm. Creatures of the night awaken and the undead rise, as a night of relentless horror...Begins!

I'm glad that finally I got to see this film! This was one I was looking forward to for a long time. As some of you know I'm a big supporter of Ti West, I think he's got a phenomenal taste for horror and an amazing eye for directing. For those of you who don't know him or aren't familiar with him, he's the director of The House Of The Devil (2009) and more recently The Innkeepers (2011). Both of which are superb movies.

He was also the director of Cabin Fever 2: Spring Fever (2009), and a movie called Trigger Man (2007) and The Wicked (2001), both of which I haven't seen yet but plan on getting to soon.

The Roost was ranked #5 out the top 10 horror films in 2005 by Bloody-Disgusting.

One of the awesome things about The Roost is that part of this film was shot in Wilmington Delaware, where I currently live. This made me want to see the movie even more.

The movie starts off profound, with a guest appearance from Tom Noonan playing the host of a low budget, old school horror TV program. He was such a good actor for this role. He looked and acted so awkward and this made him very convincing, this guy can pull off horror roles. Ti West's vision as well as Noonan's performance makes this opening scene my favorite part of the movie. It really had the feel of a local horror TV program. If it were a real show I'd watch regularly.

The movie picks up after The Horror Host (Tom Noonan) introduces it in his eerie but impressive way.

When the official movie starts I instantly liked the grain feeling of the film, making it look old and aged, while maintaining being modern with its characters.

The acting in this movie isn't that good, but it's far from bad, considering how much bad acting their is in horror these days. The characters seem entitled to their roles so I give it the grace of having convicted actors.

This movie had some good humor in it, it was comical in parts to lighten some tension at points. Doing this lightens the mood of the film, showing you it's a fun movie as well as a throwback to 80's horror. I'd even say the films grain filter makes the film look like a 70's flick.

I was surprised how good the effects were in this film, it's clearly low budget, but they stretch the budget well. The gore was very much present and so were the scares.

The zombies in the film were exactly what I expected, old school and a reminder of old zombie flicks. I liked the way they looked and acted.

The bats in this movie were also menacing and fierce, they creeped me out. I am not a personal fan of bats, though however, I am obsessed with Batman. The bats in this movie were violent and malevolent, if they were around my house I'd hit the road...

In the conclusion of this movie I was satisfied but I wasn't compelled like I was with The House Of The Devil and The Innkeepers. I thought this film was very well made and impressive, better than I was ever expecting. But it was far from the best that I've seen Mr. West do and know he's capable of. You can tell this was one of his older films, he's had plenty of time to smooth out the rough edges since then.


Sunday, July 29, 2012

Evil Dead: The Musical

Today I had the pleasure of going to see The Evil Dead: The Musical for the 2nd time! After I saw it for the first time a few years ago I was convinced that was the last I'd ever see of it seeing as I live in the middle of nowhere. But I was wrong, and like any deadite would do, I jumped on the opportunity to see it again scoring front row seats. And it was the goriest it's ever been, especially for people in the "Splatter Zone" like myself.

Before I ever saw it in person I owned the CD of the original play and I must've listened to it 100 times. It's funny and endearing and pure fun. They captured the spirit of the greatest horror trilogy ever in a handful of well written songs.

The first time I went to The Evil Dead: The Musical was a great experience and I had the luxury of meeting the cast and having a few word before the show as well as having the entire cast sign my play program. It was one of the best things that could happen to a hardcore The Evil Dead fan like myself, and the fact that I got to go again was a blessing and an awesome early birthday gift.

There are such good songs on in this play! They're both funny and commanding. I've learned the words to the songs from listening to the album so much, but nothing compares to seeing and hearing it live.

"What The **** Was That?" is a hilarious song and regardless of how many times I hear it I always laugh. I mean, you have Ash and Scottie both singing a song about how the craziness going on. It's a funny tune and an seeing it performed really ices the cake.

"Stupid B****" is another song involving Scottie and Cheryl, Ash's sister. It's rude, over the top and a superb choice for a good laugh.

"Housewares Employee" is a song by Ash and Linda, and is actually one of the best songs, if not the best song on the soundtrack. It's not as comical as the others but it gets the point across with just enough humor and harmony to make it charming.

"Good Old Reliable Jake" is one of the funniest and most enjoyable songs due to how over-acted the part is. They deliberately make him a charismatic character who even steals a few scenes from other actors due to his humor and likability.

"Do The Necronomicon" is also one of my favorites because it's a good track and is one of the most visually stunning songs due to the deadites dancing and singing their anthem. It's quote: "Like the Timwarp but only better!"

"Blew That ***** Away" is the concluding song of the musical and is also one of it's gems. It is the re-enactment of the ending to Army Of Darkness, taking place in S-Mart. It's got a good rhythm and like all the others, is very funny.

There's a good handful of other songs that I didn't mention so I had to narrow it down to favorites or else I start rambling.

I was one of the "Splatter Zone" people who got to sit in the good seats allowing you to be in direct shot of the blood. For those of you who don't know, yes, the play has lots and lots of blood and they have not problem soaking the audience in it. I myself, was drenched. One of the prop girls even rubbed me down with blood as an early birthday gift. The goriest scenes were definitely at the end, it was an experience one doesn't forget.

It's one of the many things that separates this musical from others, but it's a great experience and very compelling. I plan on going again when they come around (if they come around...) again.

In conclusion, I think this play was a phenomenal idea and is something everyone who loves horror should experience at least once. It sums up the trilogy of greatness into an hour and fifty minute show, exposing the passion, fun, heart and true core of the Evil Dead saga, as well as the scares. In both of my times going the acting has also been on par and very diligently done. Good job to the actors and actresses.

I'll be keeping the clothes I wore to the play and I'll be keeping them unwashed in all their bloody glory. I made sure to wear a white shirt and safety goggles.

I was also very pleased that not only did I get to see this celebration of one of the greatest horror series' ever made for a second time, but I also got to take pictures as you see above. Sorry some are blurry. Lots of movement going on.

When and if the day comes when I get another opportunity to see this play again I'll be jumping on the opportunity again.

Check the link below to see if Evil Dead: The Musical is coming to your town!

I'd also like to thank Bootless Stageworks for putting together this great show!

Saturday, July 28, 2012

Silent Night, Deadly Night 3: Better Watch Out! (Video 1989)


Synopsis taken from IMDb
Ricky Caldwell, the notorious ' Killer Santa Claus', awakens from a six year coma after being kept alive on life-support by a slightly crazed doctor experimenting with ESP and other special abilities. Ricky targets a young, clairvoyant blind woman, named Laura, whom is traveling with her brother Chris, and his girlfriend Jerri to their grandmothers house for Christmas Eve, and Ricky decides to go after her, leaving a trail of dead bodies in his wake.

If you read my review of Silent Night, Deadly Night 2 then you know that I wasn't a big fan at all, and that I thought it didn't do anything to bring the original film justice. I was hoping part 3 would be where they got the ball rolling again and I was wrong...

This movie doesn't even feel like a Silent Night, Deadly Night movie, it's like over the first 2 sequels they seem to have lost or forgotten the spirit of the first film. Slowly but surely this series is just becoming more and more forgettable.

However, the iconic actor and cult horror film star Bill Moseley (The Devil's Rejects 2005) was in it, so that was a plus and I guess atleast numbed some of the pain of this movie.

But this movie just didn't cut it. It was boring, I could barely hold my eyes open, it was not very well written and even worst acted. I don't know too many people who like these sequels, but if you're one of them then more power to ya. I just don't get it. I think back to Pumpkinhead 2: Bloodwings (1994) when I think of really bad and disappointing sequels, and I'd have to say that this sequel is on that level.

This film is pretty much unenjoyable due to how boring and lackluster it is. But I stuck it out 'til the end because I'm a champ like that, and I wanted to prove to myself in hopes that I'd be right, that this film could turn around if I just sit it through.

The acting was bad and very generic, even Mr. Moseley's part, I didn't like what they did with his character. I didn't like the lead character (Laura) and their wasn't any character development either. It was very dry, trying only to get by on it's cheap thrills and scares.

The story was tired and not anything creative, it's simply a straight to video movie and that's usually all I need to say. Except some straight to video horror films are actually really good. It was made for the sole purpose of trying to cash in on a series that should have long since been dead.

The kills are boring and the suspense isn't even present, if it is I sure as hell didn't see it. It just didn't work for me. Even after trying to not uphold it to the original and just judge it on a movie by itself I still couldn't find any redeemable qualities that this film has, and I definitely don't think I'll see fit to ever watch this atrocity again.

Now considering that there is 5 of these sequels and that I'm 3 in, I mine as well finish out the last 2 right? I figured it couldn't hurt more than this one. This was worse that part 2 and I strongly dislike part 2.


Friday, July 27, 2012

The Sentinel (Book 1974)

In 1974 author Jeffry Konvitz made a landmark novel in the horror genre that was passionate, enthralling, compelling, gracefully written and brilliant. It was chilling to the core and it was one of the greatest books I've ever read. It keeps you guessing and doesn't let up on plot twists and shockers. It's a book any fan of horror fiction can easily fall in love with. It's smoothly written and paints the picture perfectly.

I actually was introduced to the movie adaptation (1977) of the book starring Chris Sarandon and Burgess Meredith years and years ago when I was a young kid. I remember the movie scaring the hell out of me but it left such an impression on me that I became obsessed and it remains my favorite Haunting movie to date. It wasn't until years later that I realized the movie was based on a novel, so I bought the book and just read it. I don't know if I was happier that the movie was identical to the book or vise versa. There are a few minor differences but at their core they're one in the same.

The Sentinel is about a young and gorgeous model Alison Parker, who is still overcoming her emotional situation after her father passes. She decides to pick up her life by moving out of her boyfriends apartment and into a New York Brownstone building that's just what Alison needs to get away from her issues and clear her head. But things as usual, are too good to be true as Alison starts to realize how weird her neighbors are, an old man named Charles Chazen and a lesbian couple living below her. She also starts to get woken up in the middle of the night by heavy footsteps in the apartment above her.

After complaining to the landlord she comes to discover that there is no one else in the apartment building but her. But she refuses to believe the people she met are mere figments of her imagination and decides to investigate what's going on. But as she does she starts to get splitting migraines that eventually start making her immobile. Is she crazy and haunted by the guilt she has over her fathers death? Or is she being toyed with by greater forces involving heaven and hell, good and evil?

I suggest you watch the movie if you haven't seen it and if you haven't read the book I highly recommend it. This book is a 1 million copy bestseller and is a staple in horror literature.

It starts slow, steady, and builds up gradually and takes you through every cloudy thought and illusion Alison has, eventually leaving you with no option but to not put the book down and keep reading. The suspense is fantastic and the chills and creeps are good, they keep you scared of what's to come next and yet you're excited to get there and find out anyway.

As the story unwinds and it all adds up I was also very impressed with the characters and how well written they were as well as their character development.

So do me a favor, if you're in the mood for a good book and don't have one yet picked out to read, pick this one. You won't be let down.

After reading The Sentinel I jumped right into The Guardian (1979) which is the sequel to The Sentinel, and I was shocked to see that it was even better than it's predecessor. Why it was never made into a movie I have not idea but I consider it one long over do. But more on that next month when I review it...


Thursday, July 26, 2012

The Howling: Reborn (video 2011)


Synopsis taken from IMDb
On the eve of his high school graduation, unremarkable Will Kidman finally bonds with the girl he has long yearned for, reclusive Eliana Wynter. But he also discovers a dark secret from his past...that he is about to become a werewolf. Now, in an effort to fight destiny and save their love as well as their lives, they must battle not only Will's growing blood lust but an army of fearsome beasts bent on killing them...and then, us all.

I'd like to start off by saying that I love the original The Howling (1981) and truly consider it to be a landmark horror film. Especially for the werewolf genre. And after a few years of postponing the sequels I decided to give in and give them a shot and I should have listened to my gut. The sequels increasingly got worse! Part 3 was the worst and after that I was done, part 3 was one of the worst films I've ever seen and I wouldn't watch it again unless I was paid to do it. I never finished watching the sequels that followed part 3 because judging by the covers they're even worse than part 3.

Just another prime example of giving the right film franchise to the wrong people wanting to make a buck. So funny how they fail to realize that we'd rather see a good horror flick than a horrible one that was just fun to make. I take film seriously and I think the way some people say other people shouldn't be allowed to have kids, I say some people shouldn't be allowed to have a camera. I believe everyone has the right to express themselves through art and film, just don't do it while trying to uphold a franchise that deserves better.

So going into this film I had very low expectations and I wasn't even sure if I should waste my time on more crappy sequels. But since the title says "Reborn" and since it's only a year old I knew that meant that they were going to come at this film from a new angle and try and make it modern and give the series a clean slate. This little fact is what got me intrigued to give it a chance. I thought maybe it is possible for them to bring a long dead series back to life. I always try and remain optimistic.

The film starts with what I can only describe as being very bubbly and poppy, this film is not PG-13 but it was directed at a younger crowd, which I don't like. It reminded me of Wes Craven's Cursed. No matter how hard I tried to look at it it was hard for me to take seriously.

The story wasn't bad but it becomes predictable and losses its charm after a while. It semi hooked me, one minute I thought that it was going to be a horrible movie and then 10 minutes later I'm asking myself if maybe I was wrong, the movie seemed to have some potential.

The lead cast wasn't very convincing although I could tell they were trying hard, they just weren't the quality actors this film needed, but they did what they could. And I guess for a straight to video movie you shouldn't expect very good acting, although it is a great feeling when you find one that does have good acting. However, this film wasn't one of them.

I really appreciated what this film was going for and trying to achieve. It was still hard for me to take this film very seriously, at this point I knew that I wasn't in for a great movie like I foolishly wished. It was more entertaining that the original sequels though so they get the "thumbs up" from me on that. You don't really have to be very good at all to beat the originals, so let that be the question. Is it worse to be such a bad series that anything can be better than it or is it worse to be a movie that's better than the series but any film can achieve?

One of the things that made it so hard for me to take seriously was the werewolves. They looked good in the face but the bodies were absolutely ridiculous. They gave the werewolves Faun legs. It looks like the werewolves are wearing furry chaps. Terrible design. And the transformation scenes were pretty bad, not the worst I've seen but they were very far from the best and looked cheap with the CG used to achieve the transformations.

There is also a werewolf all-out brawl at the end between 2 werewolves, very reminiscent to the ridiculous scene in 2010's The Wolfman remake. This scene was entertaining in the pure fun aspect, I mean come on, who wouldn't want to watch a fight-to-the-death fight between to werewolves? But the fact that the film is trying to be taken seriously ruins it. You realize how cheap and poorly executed this was. This film tries really hard but it doesn't satisfy my Howling needs. I guess only the original can do that as it's proven again.

In conclusion The Howling reborn is better than the original sequels of which there are 8 including this one. This film was still a disappointment and didn't do anything to provide us hope with a comeback for The Howling series. I guess some things are better left dead as they say, right?

I don't know if a sequel would have been a better move than a remake in this case. I usually say sequels would be better than remakes, but that also depends on the film at hand. In this case I think a remake would have been a better movie because The Howling series has lost long ago the charm and magic that makes us love to watch it. It has lost itself and has become subject to horrific sequels and ridiculousness. Maybe one day we'll see a light at the end of the tunnel for this series and a bright new hope for a future. But as of right now I wouldn't hold me breath and I don't suggest you do either.


Wednesday, July 25, 2012

White: The Melody Of The Curse (2011)


Synopsis taken from IMDb
Girl group "Pink Dolls" is always pushed into the background by other popular idols. When the girls release their new song "White" - a remake from unknown origins they become instant sensations. The four members of "Pink Dolls" includes Eun-Joo, a former break dancer, Je-ni, a singer insecure with hitting high notes, Ah-Rang, a singer addicted to plastic surgery, and Sin-Ji who can't sing, but is good at rapping and singing. As the group becomes more and more popular, jealousy and competitiveness as all the girls tries to become the lead singer. But, when a member becomes the lead singer that person falls victim to a horrible accident, one by one. Eun-Joo the realizes that the song "White" is cursed and she attempts to reveal the secret...

I didn't have alot of hype going behind this movie because I didn't hear of it prior to viewing it. But after watching 3 Extremes (2004) and loving it I figured I had nothing to lose. And besides, I was looking for some good foreign horror films to add to my list.

Like so many other foreign horror films, this one is surprisingly original and incredibly creepy. The suspense in this film is top-notch and it isn't shy of giving us plenty of scares and jaw-dropping moments.

This movie is a good ghost story, period. It keeps you guessing and keeps hitting you with twist after twist and turn after turn, constantly changing what you believe the truth to be. And just when you think you figured it out they change it again. This was a good thing because it kept me very interested in this film. There is layers upon layers of story here.

As the story unwinds and you go through the maze of plot twists, it makes total sense and I was eager for the climax.

The ghost in this movie is downright creepy and whenever I saw her I was scared of what was going to happen next. The suspense was used well throughout the movie.

The deaths in this ghost movie were well done and alot weren't predictable. Some were even surprising and gripping. One scene with one of the girls practicing her high notes really late at night really caught me off guard. It was brilliant.

This film wasn't one for gore but what it showed was proper and worked for the better of the film.

The acting was good as well, I thought the filmmakers did a good job with the casting. Convincing.

If you want to watch a good ghost story here you go. This film is available on Netflix instant, so check it out!


Tuesday, July 24, 2012

The Human Centipede 2 (2011)


Synopsis taken from IMDb
Martin is a mentally disturbed loner who lives with his mother in a bleak housing project. He works the night shift as a security guard in an equally grim and foreboding underground parking complex. To escape his dreary existence, Martin loses himself in the fantasy world of the cult horror film The Human Centipede (First Sequence), fetishizing the meticulous surgical skills of the gifted Dr. Heiter, whose knowledge of the human gastrointestinal system inspires Martin to attempt the unthinkable.   

Okay so I went in to this film not knowing what to expect. I didn't read any spoilers and I stayed away from reviews, not because I didn't want to read them-I just didn't have any plans on seeing the movie any time soon. And in a way it worked out perfectly because I had no idea what I was getting into. After seeing the first film I didn't think the sequel would turn it up so much! This movie goes far and makes the first one look like a PG movie. Holy Crap.

Okay so the guy who plays Martin nails it! He's so ugly and disturbing looking, he fits the part well. That was very good casting on the movie makers' part. Because I'm not familiar with him as an actor it made him scarier to me. He was a twisted character. I don't sympathize with him because he turns around and does an atrocious act and that's inexcusable.

This movie pushes boundaries and I did not expect to be hit so hard with this movie. It caught me off guard good. The movie starts slow but once it kicks in it literally never slows down. We learn about him and why he is as twisted as he is, and none of it's good news.

Oh and he NEVER says a WORD the entire MOVIE. He acts the movie out through groans and facial expressions and you know everything he's thinking. The actor pulled this off well.

One of the hardest parts of this film to watch was the making of the centipede solely because of how unsanitary it all was. So, so wrong. Very brutal and gripping. It dared you to keep watching and I did.

The Torture was pretty bad, the worst was when he does the operation on their knees. I'm not going to specify because I don't want to ruin it for anyone. So many parts were daring and hard to watch, it was absolutely intense.

The gore was good as well although the film is black and white. It's very believable and the cast is pretty believable as well, although some of the centipede actors over act their parts. It was compelling though.

The ending of the film was not predictable at all and I thought it was very cleaver. Not for all people, but a good movie to people who like the harder stuff like me. I have to say that I did like this film alot.

I recommend this movie to anyone up for a good horror flick and has a good stomach. I hear the 3rd Human Centipede film is going to have a 500 person centipede. Good God.

Note: Do not watch this film if you have a problem with watching people eat fesses. 


Monday, July 23, 2012

Lollipop Chainsaw (game)

A while ago I remember seeing a big cardboard stand in GameStop of Lollipop Chainsaw while my girlfriend bought the Saw 2 video game (which was dreadful). And I thought this game looked awesome, however, I'm not a big gamer so I doubted that I'd ever really play the game, I just thought it looked cool.

It's been a few months since then and a buddy of mine had it and told me about it, he said it was fun and hilarious. He said there was even a cheat to let you look up Juliet's skirt.

My friend then offered me the game to try it out, so I was psyched!

Instantly I knew I'd like this game, it has alot going for it though it may not be the greatest game ever made, they nailed it on the entertaining parts for sure.

-The controls were easy to use and remember
-The stuff you can buy benefits you drastically especially the combos.
-The humor was great, very dark humor and sarcastic. 
-The graphics were awesome and the movie cut scenes were awesome! I'd like to see a cg movie!
-The bosses were creative and destructive

One of the coolest things as well as funniest and over-the-top is that Juliet cuts her boyfriend, Jake's head off to preserve him from becoming a zombie after being bitten. You can take his head and put it on zombie bodies and play as him to assist Juliet in her missions.

This game was pure fun!

The game does have some faults though...

-The bosses were too easy and got kind of annoying after a while because they're repetitive and keep returning.

-Sometimes reversing attacks and avoiding attacks can be harder, it seems to me that Juliet doesn't do what you always tell her to.

There's not much to complain about if you just want a fun game to play but if you're wanting Final Fantasy turn away. I loved this game and thought it reminded me of a more modern day Buffy. 

The zombie killing was awesome and the chainsaw blaster was crazy and fun to use. My favorite part was zombie baseball.

I'm not going to ruin any spoilers for anyone who's playing the game, I hate spoilers. So I'll cut this short and say that the ending is awesome and very fitting.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...