Wednesday, July 31, 2013

"Zombie with a Shotgun" Film/Web Series

"Zombie with a Shotgun is a film/web series about Aaron, Aaron's shotgun and Rachel who both are on the run! Aaron gets infected with the zombie virus. As the story unfolds in front of us, we watch the two take a journey to find all of the answers to our zombie questions. The viewer watches in angst wondering why Aaron has not developed the full zombie virus. Will others who get infected get to see another day? Stay tuned..."

When I was first approached to check out "Zombie with a Shotgun", I immediately jumped at the opportunity. What about the title of this series doens't pique a horror fans' interest?

After watching the web series, the only thing that I really had negative to say about it is, that the episodes aren't 90 minutes long. I wish every episode was it's own full-length movie, because it's totally and completely compelling!

The first thing that came to my mind was that this reminded me of the "30 Days of Night" series that FEARnet did, only way better quality in both story and acting. So I made it a point to post about this series and spread the word, hoping that more people will be introduced to some of the really good stuff out there that isn't getting the attention it deserves.

It's a story about a guy trying to hold onto his own sanity and humanity during the end of times. The episodes are very short, and worth a watch by anyone who is an avid fan of the genre. It doesn't take up much time, and it'll satisfy your needs.

I'll be waiting, and hoping that there's more to come of this awesome little series. I'm officially a fan!

Below are the links to the episodes for you to watch, as well as the website, Twitter account and Facebook page. Check it out!








Tuesday, July 30, 2013

Finally Speaking My Mind About "Evil Dead" (2013)

When the film hit in April, I went to a premiere screening of it. However, at that point I was taking a break from writing for a few months. So I never did a review for it. But I figured now, since it's been out a while and it hit home video, that I'd finally touch up on the subject of what is the remake of one of the biggest and most iconic horror films ever filmed.

The day of the premiere I had my close group of horror friends over, and we watched the original Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell trilogy and had a good ol' time. I don't think there's a chance of not having fun when you watch any or all of the original 3 films. Though 2 remains my favorite, they're all perfect in their own ways and for different reasons.

Before we left, I had to dress in fashion, so I got out my limited edition t-shirt of "Evil Dead 2" and headed to the event.

Watching the film, I remember feeling very tense and on edge, ready for anything to happen. I had a lot of hope going into the movie, and watching it was a thrill. I loved the way the possessed looked, they were creepy as hell! Definitely some scary makeup effects.

The violence and sheer brutality of the film had me guessing as to how it managed to get away with an R rating. Not to mention the gore! This has to be the goriest horror film I've seen in a cinema in a long time. Usually you don't get blood like that until the unrated version hits video.

Leaving the theater, the one part that stuck with me the most is the nail gun scene. That is the most terrifying scene in the film in my opinion, it is just non-stop, relentless terror. Then there's the bathroom scene with the syringe, which was the other part I kept thinking of. Once the scares started, they never really let up!

I felt something else leaving the theater as well; disappointment. Not because I disliked the film, but because aside from the 2 scenes I mentioned above (although I knew most of the bathroom scene already), all of the good parts of the film were already showed to us in the awesome red band trailers. So really, seeing the film was just filling in the gaps of what you weren't shown in the trailers. I remember thinking upon first viewing them, that if they let that much out in the commercials, what are they saving for us in the movie that they aren't showing us? And it was a letdown to find out that there really wasn't that much else to it. It would have been  much better had they not released all that footage and saved it, and I think it would have gotten even more positive reviews than it did.

There's two things that I really didn't like about the remake, and I'm not comparing it to the original when I say this, but I felt that the possessed were dulled down. I think for a remake you're supposed to go bigger and badder, and instead, they died way too easily. In the original film, you had to cut them up into pieces in order to stop them. Now in the is one, one of the possessed loses both her arms and dies. I don't like that. Being a balls-to-the-wall remake, they should have gone better and made the possessed even more resistant and unstoppable as opposed to making them easier to kill.

The other thing I disliked is the tree rape. I'm not sick or perverted, well, okay, maybe I am. But I'm not going to bash a film for having a bad rape scene, because saying there's such a thing as a good rape scene is a bit twisted. But, yet again, I felt that this was dulled down and lessened as well. Now that I've watched the film on my exclusive Target steelbook blu-ray 5 times since I bought it on it's release date, I realized that the branch that penetrates Mia is covered in thorns! This makes up for the scene being lackluster a bit, but it still could have been done better.

It wasn't really rape, it was just something that crawled insider her like a snake.

With these two major flaws, I know why that one critic said "A near perfect experience". It's very close to being a great film, it just doesn't deliver on all fronts like we were lead to believe it would. And something else that I thought that made the original superior was that, even though the remake had more of a story and character history to it than it's predecessor, there wasn't as many likable characters. If the film wasn't so short, it could have changed that by not feeling so rushed and allowing true character growth. Which is why so many of us crave for an unrated edition!

I know it seems as though I'm only mentioning things about the film that I don't like, but I actually loved the movie! As a stand alone film it's awesome, and it's a nice nod to the original and fits in with the series rather lovely. It's a modern day take on the original, and it's extreme. Overall I rate the film  3.5/5. And had there not been so many hiccups, I would have gladly given this film a 4. Remake or not, this is a real horror film, and we haven't had a movie like this that's mainstream in a long time.

As I mentioned above, this movie does have more story to it than the original 1981 film. It's not just some college kids going to hang out in a cabin, the 2013 version has a back story that's simple, yet relatable and fitting. One of the major things that I've heard people criticize the reboot for is that there's no character development which is false. And there's hardly any in the original, so to bash this one for being no different doesn't make a lot of sense.

People were really saying that horror is dead when they didn't like this remake, and they think they're being taken seriously when they say this. I'm convinced that some people only bash movies just because it gets them attention. To say a genre is dead over one film? Unheard of. And besides, most of the people who harshly criticize things and make idiotic statements are so used to giving out bad reviews that they don't even know a good film when they see it anymore.

For more on why and how horror isn't dead and never will be, read my critically appraised article for, that will about sum it up for you. Why some say Horror is Dead

Ultimately, this film is not the original. But guess what? It wasn't supposed to be! This is it's own film, and it's a really good one at that. Those who don't like it, and say that it ruined the integrity of the original need to pull their head out of their ass. Remakes don't tarnish originals, and if you don't like it, you don't like it.

Nobody's forcing it on you! Hell, I hated Rob Zombie's "Halloween" remake, does that mean the original isn't the same to watch anymore? Hell no, that's moronic!

I thoroughly enjoyed this film, and cannot wait for the sequel! Let's just hope this time that they don't put too much in the trailers and spoil the best parts for us again.

Saturday, July 27, 2013

Last Kind Words (2012)


Synopsis taken from IMDb
17-year-old Eli has just moved with his family deep into the backwoods of Kentucky to work on the isolated farm of a local recluse. Inexplicably drawn into the strange forest that lies beyond the farm, Eli encounters the beautiful, sweet and mysterious Amanda, seemingly the perfect girl. But the discovery of decaying bodies hanging from the tree, he realizes that the forest- and Amanda- are harboring some very dark secrets. Suddenly, Eli is living in waking nightmare where the lines between life and death are scrawled in blood, and there's no escaping the terror from beyond the grave.

I'm a sucker for anything that Brad Dourif's in. What can I say? I'm a fan. I always talk about how underrated of an actor he is. People don't realize the potential and talent he has and that finds him often under utilized. What I like about him as an actor is that he's always genuine, and no matter what role he plays he's always empathetic and believable, because he comes off as a real guy and not an actor. When I found out he was in this, I knew I would be watching.

To my surprise, I didn't end up liking this movie too much I mean, it was well done and pretty decently acted. It severely lacks in scares though and that's what killed it for me. I only got a little creeped out once and it was very briefly when Eli angered Amanda by jumping the fence. Aside from that, this movie was actually sad, and seemed more like a drama than anything.

The story was nice, good ghost story, but it comes off like "Mama" in the sense that the point of the film is to make you sympathize with the characters, and leaves you nothing to be scared with. The first half hour of this film is good, and really builds up some suspense that it never delivers on.

I can 100% relate to Eli, granted that my growing up wasn't as bad. I know what it's like to eat a feces sandwich of life everyday due to being in a violent environment.  And the choice to somehow stay sane in your own head when all you want to do is break down, is a familiar feeling. Eli didn't become a troubled youth like most who deal with abusive households, he didn't become a criminal because daddy was a jerk. He took his verbal and physical beatings like a man and kept his chin up, which I relate to and respect. That is of course, until he makes a wimpy decision at the end that ultimately resolves in him giving up.

This particular film is a character film, the scares aren't as high up on the priority list as getting to know the character's is. I've got no problem with that as long as the movie is scary, which it's not. Instead I ended up finding myself feeling bad for most of the people in this movie, which I didn't care for.

Funny that the leads name is Eli, because his relationship with the ghost of Amanda is very similar to that of Eli and Oskar from the film adaptation of the groundbreaking vampire book,"Let the Right one In". I didn't really care for Eli and Amanda's relationship, because it was too soft and I couldn't help but wish that there was more to it other than sorrow.

There's a twist towards the end that I saw coming a mile away, and if you watched this film and didn't know it was coming, you must not have been paying attention. It's practically in big red blinking letters throughout the film. The fact that the twist was lackluster dropped the film down another peg...

What started off as a promising ghost story with real characters, turned into a slow, boring film that ultimately has no payoff. You just watch it and it's over. The characters are pushed on the viewers too hard, so you lose patience and stop caring. I guess the film ends differently than you'd expect, and it's all around negative and depressing movie. Funny thing is, I got too tired to finish this film the night I started it, but I couldn't wait to see how it concluded. I never would have guessed that my final opinion on this film would be so low.

This one is on Netflix instant now, and it may be for some of you, but it's not for me. It really is a shame that such a back story and character story was used on an uneventful ghost story. Oh well, I guess. Brad Dourif is still the man though.

Friday, July 26, 2013

Don't Miss FEARnet's All-Day Holliston Marathon August 5th

(SANTA MONICA, CA JULY 23, 2013) – FEARnet is giving fans the chance to relive all 20 episodes of its hit original series, HOLLISTON, in an all-day marathon on Monday, August 5, at 10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT. Starting with the series’ pilot episode and running through to the ninth episode of the second season, the marathon will whet fans’ appetites and get them caught up on all the HOLLISTON hijinks, just in time for the season two finale on Tuesday, August 6.
As an added bonus, FEARnet will also be unveiling the world premiere of series character Lance Rockett’s (Twisted Sister’s Dee Snider) first music video. Fans can get a behind-the-scenes look at the music video exclusively on FEARnet, on Friday, August 2. The music video will run again during the HOLLISTON marathon on Monday, August 5, with a portion of the video debuting in the Season 2 finale on Tuesday, August 6, at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT. The original song, itself, “Love It Down Your Throat,” will be made available for purchase on iTunes right after the season finale airs.
The brainchild of lifelong genre fan-turne-filmmaker Adam Green, HOLLISTON is an irreverent take on the traditional multi-camera situational comedy, aimed at lovers of true horror, sci-fi and pop culture. Starring Green and Joe Lynch (EVERLY, WRONG TURN 2), HOLLISTON is set in Green’s real life hometown of Holliston, Massachusetts, and follows the daily exploits of Adam and Joe—two aspiring horror filmmakers, dealing with the struggles of post-college life and relationships, while trying to make their big break in the business. The talented ensemble cast includes Corri English (UNREST, DEVIL MAY CALL), Laura Ortiz (THE HILLS HAVE EYES, HAPPY ENDINGS), Dave Brockie (alien frontmanOderus Urungus” from the heavy metal band GWAR), and Dee Snider (Twisted Sister).
Highlights of the marathon include a terrifying encounter with a hard-partying Tony Todd (CANDYMAN); ill-fated run-ins with Danielle Harris (HATCHET III), Kane Hodder (FRIDAY THE 13TH VII-IX), and John Landis at a horror convention; a Christmas Special with a madman on the loose; an animated episode that sees the town attacked by a giant blob; a RINGU-inspired J-Horror episode; a Found Footage episode; and appearances from genre stars such as Bill Moseley (TEXAS CHAINSAW), Sid Haig (THE LORDS OF SALEM), David Naughton (AN AMERICAN WEREWOLF IN LONDON), and Bailee Madison (DON’T BE AFRAID OF THE DARK).
To access photos of the music video, visit FEARnet’s Flickr page at

Thursday, July 25, 2013

Psycho Cop Returns (1993)


Synopsis taken from IMDb
psychopath cop decides to kill everyone who he thinks has broken the law.

Once I was a few minutes into this one I could tell why so many people seem to like it. It has the genuine feel of a grindhouse film, with it's gritty interior and exterior. This is more like a throwback to the 70's exploitation flicks than it is a near-mid 90's movie.

In this film, Psycho Cop crashes a bachleor party, and honestly I'm glad he did. I didn't think any of the strippers were attractive, maybe it was a 90's thing, but I have a higher standard than what was in this movie. So I was extremely dissapointed with the fact that out of a handful of near-naked darlings, there wasn't one that I was wanting to look at.

No, like the first film, there is no character developement or likeable characters. Really, it's just a bunch of mindless guys acting like fools and thinking they're cool. Not having good characters does either two things, it either kills the whole movie or it makes the movie fun. This was the latter.

The writing is so simple that it's totally fine if you text, chat, or get up to eat with this movie playing, and the only thing you'll miss is bad acting or worse dialog. Trust me, I did all of the above and was still able to follow the movie completely. It's literally a cop shows up to a party and starts killing people, there's nothing to it.

What struck me was that somehow it was actually really enjoyable! I wasn't looking for good acting or dialog when I went into watching, I didn't even know what to expect. I just went in hoping it would be better than the original, and it was.

The kills are a little better, but the effects are still bad. Due to the fact that I actually sort of liked this fim, I didn't mind the flaws. I just saw it as a fun movie. You don't have to stare at the screen the entire duration, you can even have it on as background noise and only catch bits and pieces and it'll be one that you'll enjoy.

I liked the ending of this installment because it resorted in the civilians getting back at the corrupt bastard and jumping the living hell out of him with weapons. Of course it didn't keep him down but, it was a good redemption scene that for some reason reminded me of "The Warriors". It was probably just the rough around the edges type of scene it is.

I can't say that I'm a big fan of either film, but I certainly didn't mind this one. This is a good film in comparison to "Maniac Cop", unlike it's predecessor. I approve this movie, it's a lot of fun, and it's an easy watch.

Wednesday, July 24, 2013

Psycho Cop (1989)


Synopsis taken from IMDb
Six college students on their weekend vacation are humiliated and killed one by one by a psycho cop.

If you're a follower of this blog, then you know that a few weeks ago I reviewed the "Maniac Cop" trilogy. And the one thing that kept popping up is "Psycho Cop" and "Psycho Cop 2", however, I was in no rush to see them. Reason being that I already saw it as a copycat series, especially since the first film came out only a year after the first "Maniac Cop" film.

Speaking of which, just like "Maniac Cop" this film was harshly criticized by Police Interest Group. I find this funny, because I can see why they'd complain about these movies. On the other hand, I think these films are a wakeup call to a lot of unhonest cops out there who get away with things. No doubt that these films are extreme cases of police brutality, but they're driven by the "what if this really happened?" idea, due to how corrupt cops can be and what they can often slide by with.

Finally curiousity got the best of me, and I caved and watched it. Everybody knows that I'm an 80's horror child, I'm a sucker for it and can never get enough of it. This film being an 80's film, actually didn't do anything for me. I'm not hating it or bashing it, but I just didn't find the appeal in it.

It's a cheap little nasty without much story, it's just a bunch of college kids being killed off one after another, there's really nothing to it. That's a good thing and a bad thing, because looking at it from one perspective it's nothing more than a forgettable movie. One the other hand, it's an easy and fun watch. So rating this one isn't easy.

The deaths aren't anything that I haven't seen before, they're pretty generic and I don't think it's because it's a dated movie. I think that back in 1989 that there were way better effects and deaths in films that came before it, and after it.

Really, the best way to describe this film is to say that it's a sleazy murder movie that doesn't offer anything in the way of story or character developement. You just watch things happen and then the movie's over. I watched the film 2 or 3 days ago, and I can honestly say that I don't remember hardly anything about it! That happens a lot though, but what else can you expect when you redo what's already been done and done better than what you're doing? I feel like this movie was made just to make a horror film, I felt no real need for it at all with how it offered nothing new.

Once watching the film and talking about it amongst friends, I came to find out that a lot of people didn't like this movie. I also discovered that a lot of people love the sequel, so I watched that one, and the review will be coming soon.

Overall, I can't say that there was anything that I hated about this film, it was just kind of there, take it or leave it. I wouldn't go out of my way to watch it again, and I wouldn't purchase it unless I got the sequel with it. If you're in the mood for a cheesy 80's flick with bad dialog and acting, than it's an easy watch. Otherwise, it's not worth the time of day.

In what was an attempt to cash in on "Maniac Cop", it fell far too short. Fun movie, but not a good one.

Tuesday, July 23, 2013

Parasitic (2012)


Synopsis taken from IMDb
A group of friends become trapped inside a nightclub with an unseen terror. Unable to escape, one at a time they fall victim to the ravenous, bloodthirsty beast.

Another night of staying up late with insomnia is the reason I watched this film. It was simply the next one in line on my Netflix Queue. And If you've read my last few posts, you know that I'm on a losing streak with Netflix.

So I wasn't expecting anything from this film. I was just hoping that it wouldn't be as bad as the last one I've watched. I believe I saw this film at Redbox, I'm not sure, but I've seen this movie around before somewhere, and I've been eager to try it. That's why it was on my instant queue in the first place. They say never judge a book by its cover, but this one is hard to not wanna watch after you see the cover.

Instantly, I got a feel of the film, what it was going to be like, how it was going to turn out, etc. The reason is, this film is one of those with a very simple and basic story. You can text through it, get up and grab a bite to eat, and use the toilet without pausing it, and still understand the movie completely. There isn't anything to understand, it is what it is. This is literally a film where no one's infected, then people start getting infected, and then there's a conclusion. Nothing special or anything original.

I had my ups and downs with this movie. One minute I was excited to see what would happen, and the other I wasn't. There are things that I certainly do like about this film, but there's also things that I don't. I think being truthful and speaking down the line, that this film is a bad movie. However, it has a lot of entertainment value and quality. It's not so bad that you trash it to your friends, it's one that you invite friends over to watch, so you can laugh and have a good time.

I was upset when the attractive bartender, Val (Bianca Holland), got infected. She wasn't someone I would have minded looking at for the duration of the film. Then I got happy because after becoming infected, Val undresses in the bathroom. So at that point, I was glad that she had gotten infected. It was totally worth not seeing her for a long period after, when she disappeared into the vents.

The acting in this film is pretty damn bad. As a horror fan, we all know how actors in horror get it wrong. Due to this fact, we all have different levels of bad. There's good-bad, bad-but-awesome, etc. This film falls into bad-bad, where it's such bad acting, that when it's unintentionally funny. You're actually laughing at the people instead of with them.

The dialog in this little piece of cinema is really, really bad. Nothing that's said feels natural, it's all forced. There's a lot of idiotic things spoken. None of the characters felt real, so the disconnection you feel for them makes it hard to give a damn if they get infected or not. I really didn't care what happened to any of them.

One thing that really got on my nerves is the fact that all of the men in this movie, aren't men at all. They're little sissy girls. None of the guys want to fight, they're as bad as the girls, and it's embarrassing. Of the handful of guys in the club, none of them show that they have any guts, they just lay there and expect everyone else to help them. Had this been me, I would have been coming up with a plan, not being useless like they were.

As bad as this film is, I can't honestly say that I wouldn't watch it again. That's probably the biggest and only compliment that I can give this movie, because I don't plan on revisiting a lot of what I've watched recently. The parasite at the end was actually really impressive! I really liked the look and design, it was a cross between the Predator and Alien hybrid, mixed with the alien from "The Faculty". I feel that most of the budget went into this creature, and it showed, because the rest of the film suffers.

In conclusion, if you're in the mood for a film that's easy to watch, has some laughs, and doesn't take itself seriously, than this is a film that's worth at least a one time watch. It's not a good movie, but it's a fun one, and that's better than what I can say about some of the other films I've seen as of late.

Monday, July 22, 2013

Sack: Slasherton (Book Review)

Some of you may be wondering what that cute little picture is at the top of this post, and I'm going to tell you. This adorable psycho is Sack, the first story in a series to come. He's a twisted character but, undeniably charming and enjoyable. Drawn to perfection by Zoe Humphries, Sack is a blast of total nostalgia to those who are horror fans and kids at heart, like myself.

The illustrations are simple, and exactly what this book needed. It's aimed to be a child's book, only for adults. So, Sack is enjoyable for everyone, but it is adult themed, so make sure you let your kid grow up a bit before they read it. Mostly, it's a book that anyone can read and enjoy to the fullest. Just imagine reading a children's style book about a murderer, what's not awesome about that? If you can think of something please tell me, because I can't!

On top of good subject material and the aforementioned illustrations, the book is short and sweet. Sack comes off like a twisted Dr. Seuss book, full of nice little rhymes that'll crack you up and keep you smiling. This work of literature manages to keep our love for horror as strong as ever, as well as bring us to a place of peace in our minds, because it puts in back into childhood. The idea of this series is fantastic! Managing to bring together your childhood and adulthood in one book isn't something I've seen in a while, and especially not this well done. Reading Sack was as enjoyable as watching an episode of Tales from the Crypt, it's pure genius and entertainment!

I'd like to thank Zoe Humphries for bringing this book to my attention and giving me the chance to read it in advance. She's a very talented artist who captured chidhood and horror beautifully, and I can't wait to read the next book!

Below are a few pages taken from Sack

If you're wondering where you can check this little nasty out for yourselves, the links are below.

And don't forget to LIKE them on Facebook!

Saturday, July 20, 2013

The Conjuring Will Scare The Hell Out Of You


Synopsis taken from IMDb
Paranormal investigators Ed and Lorraine Warren work to help a family terrorized by a dark presence in their farmhouse. Forced to confront a powerful entity, the Warren's find themselves caught in the most terrifyin case of their lives.

I recall back in February when the eerie teaser trailer landed for this film. Now, being a horror fan, I'm subject to a lot of disappointmet, but I couldn't help but get excited and hopeful. When I saw the trailer, I was alone and creeped the hell out! And it got me really thinking that if that were only a mere scene, what would the rest of the movie offer? If you haven't seen the trailer I'm referring to, check it out.

Looking at this film from one standpoint, "Paranormal Activity" is the closest thing to a true haunting movie that we've gotten in a while. And while the first film delivered and gained sequels and a lot of popularity, it's still not that big haunting film that we've been itching for. It's been too long since we've gotten a "Poltergeist" or "The Amityville Horror", films that chilled audiences down to their bones. Although I'll be the first to admit that Amityville never did anything for me, I still respect the hell out of it. There's a difference between liking a film and respecting it.

From another standpoint, James Wan has been leaving a trail of scares behind him wherever he goes. He shocked us all with "Saw" and then, "Dead Silence" crept into our homes, mind and hearts. I've always been a fan of Wan's, and though I didn't like "Insidious", I appreciate it for being a scary movie that didn't rely on gore and nudity. He knows how to build up an atmosphere and drive in the terror. He's an incredibly talented filmmaker who can take any film and turn it around on you with good, and sometimes fantastic twists.

Going into the theater to see his latest film, "The Conjuring", I was prepared for anything. Being a fan of Wan's work, I could only imagine what he was going to do with this story, and how it would be adapted on the screen. Unlike most ghost stories, this one truly has a solid foundation and a strong, well written story with believable characters.

Unlike my usual trips to the cinema, I was actually looking forward to seeing this film in a packed crowd. The audience was literally screaming at the top of their lungs in terror, and then laughing aloud, then they were jumping and scared again. Best part about that? I was partaking in the commotion. It's been a long time since I've genuinely been scared, I almost forgot what it was like for a film to sit with you and still impact you even after you've told yourself it was only a movie. I'm pleased to say that this movie got that reaction.

Built around a great cast and real characters, "The Conjuring" has a story that really makes you scared of what's to come throughout the film, and has you horrified for the Perron family and the Warren's! Lily Taylor was stunning in her performance as the matriarch, Carolyn Perron. She really shows what she's made of, and I hope we see acting like this from her in the future. This role was perfect for her! Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga were brilliant as Ed and Lorraine Warren. I really enjoyed how the film kept it's realism by reminding us how real the characters are by showing their flaws.

The thing that I enjoyed the most, is the fact that the movie doesn't rely on cheap, quick jumps to scare you. There's plenty of jump moments, and I mean plenty, but it has a string of nailbiting suspense that starts at the very opening credits, and doesn't let up until the end credits roll. There are parts that will sit in your head and replay over and over.

The film is deeply scary when you're with the Perron family during their move into their new home. Due to how relatable they are, you're instantly in fear for them. It'll be a long, long time before I can look at a game of hide and clap again without getting goosebumps. Once the Warren's show up, things get terrfying, and I tend to not use 'terrifying' unless it's really necessary. Though the scares start slow and scattered, it's a downhill rollercoaser once it picks up, and you never know when something's coming around the corner, or what it'll be that does. When you find out why the haunting is happening, it goes from bad news to worse news.

I was pleased that this was a haunting movie that was rooted in religion, because a lot of films don't include religion anymore. And when they do, it isn't done well at all. Just look to "The Last Exorcism" to see what I mean. "The Conjuring" is unique because it manages to be both a haunting and possession film. You ride it out as a ghost film for the majority of the film, and then you're hit with a killer exoricism scene that'll make you dare to watch! The air is so tense watching that you can cut it with a knife.

Something that makes me really proud is, even though the film has hardly any gore, launguage, and no nudity, it still recieved an R rating for being so scary. If nothing else tells you to see this movie, let that be your reason right there. This is a real horror film. This is a real haunting film. This is the horror film the genre needed to wake some fans up and out of their stupor. All I can really say is that if you want to see a horror film that is good in every aspect, then you need to check this one out. If not, you're seriously missing out!

Thursday, July 18, 2013

Time to get "Twixt"ed

I'm sure right now you're thinking "what is this Twixt stuff everyone is talking about". Well, I'm going to tell you. Twixt is something new and fun, that is for any and all fans of horror and the macabre. Twixt is a devious site that offers fans a "disturbing place to come and see anything and everything to give them nightmares".

All you have to do to partake in this ghoulish site is use the hashtag #nightmare on your Twitter, Tumblr, or Instagram accounts in order for your pics and posts to be a part of the horrific fun! You can visit the site here:

"Twixt" is a new horror film from the brilliant mind of Oscar winning "The Godfather" director, Francis Ford Coppola. The film is hitting DVD and Blu-Ray next week, so keep your eyes and ears open. What's the film about you ask?

SYNOPSIS: A writer with a declining career arrives in a small town as part of his book tour gets caught up in a murder mystery involving a young girl. That night in a dream, he is approached by a mysterious young ghost named V. He's unsure of her connection to the murder in the town, but is grateful for the story being handed to him. Ultimately he is led to the truth of the story, surprised to find that the ending has more to do with his own life than he could ever have anticipated. 


Wednesday, July 17, 2013

"Crawl Bitch Crawl" Is Coming Soon

I recently found out about this film, and I cannot wait to give it a watch. Though it doesn't have a release date yet, it's set to land this year, so be ready and keep your eyes peeled.


Synopsis: An elite security team assigned the task of protecting the last known woman who can become pregnant, find themselves caught in an endless claustrophobic underground tunnel system. The team soon learns - the real horror is not the unstoppable creature chasing them, but the ever growing smaller tunnel itself. The will to live for each member of the team gets challenged with the obstacle of fourteen inch two thousand foot tunnel.

What horror fans are saying about CRAWL BITCH CRAWL...

"...Get through this horror tunnel..."
-Bloody Disgusting (Mr Disgusting)

"...A Fist-Clenching, Breath-Holding, Claustrophobic Thrill-Ride..."
-Yell! Magazine (Joanna Jaguar)

"Going to the counter and ordering a ticket to this film should be fun!"
-Horror Smorgasbord (Slowdeath77) 

"...Breakout Actress Nicole Alonso...kicks some serious ass..."
 -Yell! Magazine (Joanna Jaguar)







Tuesday, July 16, 2013



Presentation Will Include the World Premiere Screening of Series Character Lance Rockett’s (Dee Snider) First Music Video “Love It Down Your Throat,” In Its Entirety

(SANTA MONICA – JULY 11, 2013) –Adam Green, acclaimed genre filmmaker (HATCHET; the upcoming DIGGING UP THE MARROW) and writer, producer and star of FEARnet’s original TV series HOLLISTON, will participate in a special panel and autograph signing at Comic-Con, on Thursday, July 18. The signing will take place from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. in the autograph pavilion, with the panel at 8:30 p.m.  Joining Green will be HOLLISTON co-stars Laura Ortiz (THE HILLS HAVE EYES), and Dave Brockie (GWAR frontman Oderus Urungus), with series director Sean Becker (THE GUILD). The panel will be moderated by fan favorite Alison Haislip (THE VOICE, ATTACK OF THE SHOW). As an added bonus, Green and Brockie will be recording an episode of The Movie Crypt podcast live at the Geek Nation booth on the main convention floor from 3 p.m. to 5 p.m. that same day. A HOLLISTON Season 2 poster signing will occur at the booth immediately following the podcast.

The brainchild of lifelong genre fan-turned-filmmaker Adam Green, HOLLISTON is an irreverent take on the traditional multi-camera situational comedy, aimed at lovers of true horror, sci-fi and pop culture. The series is currently in the middle of its second season—which premiered on June 4—filled with even more heartfelt hilarity and outrageous storylines, and featuring episodes inspired by J-Horror and Found Footage films, an animated episode, and a multitude of guest appearances from genre icons such as Sid Haig, Bill Moseley, Kane Hodder, Derek Mears, Danielle Harris and Bailee Madison. HOLLISTON currently airs Tuesdays on FEARnet, at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT.

As a special event for fans who attend the panel, the group will unveil the world premiere of series character Lance Rockett’s (Twisted Sister’s Dee Snider) first music video in its entirety. Subsequently, fans can get a behind-the-scenes look at the music video exclusively on FEARnet, on Friday, August 2. The music video will run again during the HOLLISTON marathon on Monday, August 5, with a portion of the video debuting in the Season 2 finale on Tuesday, August 6. The original song, itself, “Love It Down Your Throat,” will be made available for purchase on iTunes right after the season finale airs.

“It feels great to be coming back to Comic-Con with HOLLISTON,” Green said. “The show was all but created for the Comic-Con crowd, mixing horror, Sci Fi, heavy metal and pop culture in a classic sitcom format that was always for ‘them’ and never for ‘us’. It’s incredible to see that the show still resonates so strongly with legions of geeks, like me."

HOLLISTON is produced by film and television production company ArieScope Pictures, which was founded in 1998 by Green, producer Cory Neal and cinematographer Will Barratt. ArieScope is an industry leader in independent genre fare, and has produced several theatrical titles over the years, including HATCHET, HATCHET 2, FROZEN, SPIRAL, GRACE, CHILLERAMA, HATCHET 3 and the upcoming DIGGING UP THE MARROW. For more information, visit:

About FEARnet
FEARnet is a multi-platform programming service delivering original and acquired horror, thriller and suspense content as a cable TV movie network, a video-on-demand outlet and web portal.  FEARnet, a partnership among Sony Pictures Television, Lionsgate Entertainment and Comcast Corporation, features a robust lineup of popular titles from major film studios and independents, encompassing 300 plus movie titles a year, including 14 world television and 22 theatrical broadcast premieres. The Network is distributed to U.S. cable subscribers across the country on various systems and is often ranked as the number-one free HD VOD movie service available in more than 27 million homes. The website,, ranks as one of the most popular sites in the genre category among total uniques and duration per visit. Follow FEARnet on Facebook and Twitter (@FEARnet). For more information about the company, visit To access photos visit FEARnetPR on flickr.

Contact: Cindy Ronzoni, FEARnet Publicity              ( 310.255.3675
  Erik Olsen, FEARnet Publicity                     ( 310.255.4934
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...